Conceptual Fashion

I have been interested in pursuing a career in fashion design since I was about 13 or 14 years old. I think the idea of working with fabric especially appealed to me because unlike most mediums fabric could move like a liquid which I always thought was the most beautiful thing. 

  Ever since I became interested in it I took every opportunity I could to educate myself more. I took many Saturday classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology in high school, as well as fashion marketing classes in my regular school. The summer of my senior year I took a pre-college course at the Rhode Island School of Design majoring in fashion and the next summer I took my first unpaid internship in Manhattan and have been interning ever since.

It was at RISD that I learned how fashion could be more than design, it could be translated into art, it could be sculpture. That gave me hope, I was growing worried that fashion was too big of an industry to be anything but business but I became inspired. I was, and still am, hopeful that I’ll one day find a job that will let me express and explore my point of view without too much worry over things like market trends and whats selling the most.

As a designer I would like to represent my generation. I think the fact that we are living in a world dominated by technology is something not explored enough in fashion. I would like to be the voice of the people who have grown up influenced by computers and by having endless information available to us from the time we were children.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conceptual Fashion

  1. sirortega says:

    This is a great synopsis of your reasoning and strive to become an artist and fashion designer but I would like to hear more about your work and what you plan to do with it in order to become designer that represents your generation. You briefly touch on technology stating “we are living in a world dominated by technology is something not explored enough in fashion.” Do you plan on combing technology into your designs? like placing LED lights in your garments for visual effect or new advances in technology like artificial materials that you can use in fabrics to enhance the product.

Leave a Reply

